

UNOFFICIAL REPORT OF MAJOR ACTIONS COMMISSION FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER RECOGNITION SEPTEMBER 28, 2023

The Commission for Continuing Education Provider Recognition (CCEPR) met virtually on September 28, 2023. The following is a summary of matters considered by the Commission and actions taken. The Commission:

- 1. Considered 22 new applications for ADA CERP recognition, 48 applications for continued recognition, 11 progress reports, two requests for reconsideration of intent to withdraw, and one substantive change report. The Commission granted initial recognition to 22 providers of continuing dental education, and continued recognition to 49 providers. The Commission withdrew recognition from two providers for failure to meet program requirements. The Commission discontinued recognition of seven providers at the request of those providers. As a result of the Commissions' actions, 478 CE providers will be ADA CERP recognized effective November 1, 2023. This total includes 36 providers approved through Joint Accreditation for Interprofessional Education.
- 2. Approved revisions to the ADA CERP Commercial Interest Questions for incorporation into the ADA CERP pre-application forms for determination of eligibility.
- 3. Reviewed drafts of proposed revisions to the ADA CERP Recognition Standards and approved the concept of adopting the ACCME Standards for Integrity and Independence in Accredited CE as a requirement for ADA CERP recognition when the revised ADA CERP Recognition Standards are adopted.
- 4. Amended the following ADA CERP Policies for clarity and to reflect current procedures: Complaints Policy, Procedures for an Adverse Action Against a Continuing Education Provider, and the ADA CERP Glossary definition of Continuing Dental Education; amended the following CCEPR Policies and Procedures: Appointment of Public Member and Jurisdictional Licensing Agency Member and Criteria for Appointment to the Commission.
- 5. Reviewed a progress report on the Commission's strategic plan and received a report on Commission finances through August 2023.
- 6. Appointed the following consultants to the Commission to participate in the CERP application review process, for a one year term beginning October 2023 through October 2024: Dr. John Ball, Dr. Hardeep Chehal, Dr. Maria Cuevas-Nunez, Dr. Debra Dixon, Dr. David Kim, Dr. Timothy Kirkpatrick, Dr. Raquel Rozdolski, Dr. Mitra Sadrameli, and Ms. Carol Trecek.
- 7. Received information on the appointment to the Commission of Ms. Reva Brennan, appointed by the American Society of Constituent Dental Executives, to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Ms. Kathlene Gerrity; and received information on three new Commissioners whose 4-year terms will begin in October 2023: Dr. Anil Ardeshna, appointed by the American Association of Orthodontists; Dr. Steven Haas, appointed by the American Dental Education Association, and Dr. Nicole Quezada, appointed by the American Dental Association.
- 8. Received information on the following appointments to the CCEPR Appeal Board for 2023-2027: Dr. Carla A. Evans, Dr. Mark C. Hutten, Dr. David M. Kim, Dr. Paul Leary, Dr. Daniel J. Meara, Dr. Jade Miller, Dr. Susan G. Reed, Dr. Raquel Rozdolsk, Dr. Mitra Sadrameli, Dr. Denis E. Simon III, and Ms. Carol Trecek.

CCEPR Unofficial Report of Major Actions September 28, 2023 Page 2

- 9. Elected Dr. Kecia Leary as chair of the Commission for 2023-2024, and Dr. Carlos A. Bertot as vice-chair of the Commission for 2023-2024.
- 10. Acknowledged the following Commissioners whose terms will expire in October 2023: Dr. Daniel J. Meara (Chair), Dr. Edwin del Valle-Sepúlveda, Dr. Carlotta A. Evans, Dr. Raquel M. Rozdolski and Ms. Carol Trecek.

<u>CCEPR Members</u>: Dr. Daniel J. Meara (Chair); Dr. Carlos A. Bertot, Ms. Reva Brennan, Dr. Edwin del Valle-Sepúlveda; Dr. Carlotta A. Evans; Dr. Kecia S. Leary; Dr. Anthony R. Mecham, Dr. Marc G. Nuger; Dr. Kumar J. Patel; Dr. Seena Patel; Dr. Cynthia S. Petrie; Dr. Raquel M. Rozdolski, Dr. Arif Salman, Dr. Bruce Seidberg; Ms. Carol Trecek; Dr. Jasbir D. Upadhyaya; and Dr. Susan K. Zelazo-Smith.

Dr. Roberta Pileggi was unable to attend.

ADA Trustee Liaison: Dr. John Hisel, Eleventh District