Join ADAMember Log In

The broad communities of interest, those affected by the Commission's accreditation activities, are represented on the Commission.     

Members of the Commission are selected by the participating organizations; these selections are not subject to review by any other organization. There are 30 members on the Board of Commissioners. The Commission membership reflects a wide geographic distribution and includes both genders and under-represented ethnic groups.     

Summary of CODA Representatives

American Dental Association 4 members
American Association of Dental Boards 4 members
American Dental Education Association 4 members
Postdoctoral General Dentistry 1 member
Recognized Dental Specialties (one each) 9 member
American Dental Assistants Association 1 member
American Dental Hygienists' Association 1 member
National Association of Dental Laboratories 1 member
General Public 4 members
Students 1 member

TOTAL 30 members

As noted above, the participating organizations select their own representatives. The Commissioner representing postdoctoral general dentistry is jointly selected by the American Dental Education Association and the American Association of Hospital Dentists. The Commissioner representing students is jointly selected by the American Student Dental Association and the American Dental Education Association. All Commissioners serve one four-year term, except for the Student Commissioner who serves one two-year term.

Return to Top

Establishment of the Commission

From 1938-1974, prior to the formation of the Commission, the American Dental Association's Council on Dental Education was recognized as the accrediting agency for dental and dental-related education programs. In 1972, the Council recognized the need to provide the communities of interest with more direct representation in accreditation decisions and policy issues. After considerable planning, the Commission on Dental Accreditation was formed.

The Commission, established in 1975, is nationally recognized by the United States Department of Education (USDE) to accredit dental and dental-related education programs conducted at the post secondary level. The Commission functions independently and autonomously in matters of developing and approving accreditation standards, making accreditation decisions on educational programs and developing and approving procedures that are used in the accreditation process. It is structured to include an appropriate representation of the communities of interest.

Return to Top

Peer Review Process

The Commission uses an extensive list of consultants (or "peers") in its accreditation activities. Each year, all participating communities of interest nominate individuals to serve as consultants. Consultants serve as members of site visit teams. They may also serve as members of special committees and may assist the Commission in other activities. Actual appointments of consultants - selected from those persons nominated - are made annually by the Commission based on qualifications and current needs for program type and geographic representation.

Return to Top

CODA Member Biographical Information     

Members of the Commission on Dental Accreditation are selected in accordance with the Rules of the Commission on Dental Accreditation and the Constitution and Bylaws of the American Dental Association. The current members are listed below and their biographical information is available to download.

            Williams, John – Indianapolis, IN (Chair)
            Benson, Byron “Pete” – Dallas, TX
            Burr, Kristi – Burton, OH
            Campbell, Stephen – Hinsdale, IL
            Cangialosi, Thomas – New York, NY
            Dodge, William – San Antonio, TX
            Donly, Kevin – San Antonio, TX
            Gagliardi, Lori – Pasadena, CA
            Giasolli, Robert – Orange Country, CA
            Glicksman, Milton – Dartmouth, MA
            Greenwell, Henry – Louisville, KY
            Kahn, Richard – New Brunswick, NJ
            Kassebaum, Denise – Denver, CO
            Kolstad, James – Milwaukee, WI
            Lanier, Dennis – Columbus, GA
            Leffler, William – Massillon, OH
            Livingston, Harold Mark – Jackson, MS
            Mascarenhas, Ana Karina – Fort Lauderdale, FL
            Neville, Brad – Charleston, SC
            Royeen, Charlotte – St. Louis, MO
            Schindler, William – San Antonio, TX
            Schonfeld, Steven – Eureka, CA (Vice-Chair)
            Shepherd, Kathi – Detroit, MI
            Sherman, Robert – Honolulu, HI
            Sherrard, James – Norwich, CT
            Surabian, Stanley – Fresno, CA
            Tiner, B.D – San Antonio, TX
            Torres-Nazario, Ivan – Mayaguez, PR
            Tuneberg, Perry – Rockford, IL
            West, Karen – Las Vegas, NV

CODA Appeal Board Members Biographical Information

Appeal Board Members of the Commission on Dental Accreditation are selected in accordance with the Rules of the Commission on Dental Accreditation and the Constitution and Bylaws of the American Dental Association. The current members are listed below. Additionally, the member list is available to download for biographical information.  

            Dellinger, Tracy – Madison, MS
            Ducar, John – Torrance, CA
            Gaylord, William – Falstaff, AZ
            Hovland, Eric – New Orleans, LA
            Kanna, Stanwood – Hanapepe, HI
            Kinney, Bruce – Yakima, WA
            Kushner, George – Louisville, KY
            Liu, John – Issaquah, WA
            Madison, Sandra – Asheville, NC
            Mora, Maria Alejandra – Pembrook Pines, FL
            Oliver, Hope – LaVergne TN
            Petrozza, Patricia – Winston Salem, NC
            Swatts, Angela – Indianapolis, IN
            Thornton-Evans, Gina – Dacula, GA
            Zunt, Susan – Indianapolis, IN

Return to Top

Commission on Dental Accreditation Staff    

The Commission on Dental Accreditation staff are listed below. Also, a list of their biographical information is available to download.  

  • Dr. Sherin Tooks, director, Commission on Dental Accreditation
  • Ms. Catherine Baumann, manager, Advanced Specialty Education (Dental Public Health, Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, Pediatric Dentistry, Prosthodontics)
  • Dr. Catherine Horan, manager, Predoctoral Dental Education 
  • Ms. Jennifer Snow, manager, Advanced Specialty Education (Endodontics, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopaedics, Periodontics)
  • Ms. Peggy Soeldner, manager, Postdoctoral General Dentistry Education
  • Ms. Patrice Renfrow, manager, Allied Dental Education


Return to Top