e-mail Print Share

Dental Specialty Boards

A list of the Dental Specialty Certifying Boards and contact information follows:

American Board of Dental Public Health
827 Brookridge Drive, NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
Phone: (404) 876-3530
Email:  abdph@comcast.net
Internet Site:  www.aaphd.org/
Contact:  Dr. Joseph Alderman

Current Officers
President:  Dr. Jeffrey G. Chaffin
Executive Director:  Dr. E. Joseph Alderman

American Board of Endodontics
211 East Chicago Avenue
Suite 1150
Chicago, IL  60611
Phone:  (312) 266-7310
Fax:  (312) 266-9982
Email:  abe@aae.org
Internet Site: www.aae.org
Contact:  Ms. Margie Hannen

Current Officers
President:  Dr. James D. Johnson
Executive Secretary:  Ms. Margie Hannen

American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology
One Urban Center, Suite 690
4830 W. Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL  33609
Phone: (813) 286-2444
Fax:  (813) 289-5279
Email: clarita@abpath.org
Internet Site:  www.abomp.org
Contact Person:  Ms. Clarita Scioscia

Current Officers
President:  Dr. Douglass D. Damm
Executive Secretary:  Ms. Clarita Scioscia

American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology
PO Box 31966
Philadelphia, PA  19104
Phone:  (215) 573-7115
Email:  mmupparapu@gmail.com
Internet Site:  www.aaomr.org
Contact Person:  Dr. Mel Mupparapu

Current Officers
President:  Dr. Kenneth Abramovitc
Secretary-Treasurer:  Mel Mupparapu

American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
625 N. Michigan Avenue
Suite 1820
Chicago, IL  60611
Phone: (312) 642-0070
Fax:  (312) 642-8584
Email:  lhoxie@aboms.org  
Internet Site:  www.aboms.org
Contact Person:  Mr. Lance O. Hoxie

Current Officers
President:  Dr. Peter E. Larsen
Executive Vice President:  Mr. Lance O. Hoxie

American Board of Orthodontics
401 N. Lindbergh Blvd. #308
St. Louis, MO  63141-7839
Phone: (314) 432-6130
Fax:  (314) 432-8170
Email:  info@americanboardortho.com
Internet Site:  www.americanboardortho.com
Contact Person:  Ms. Christine L. Eisenmayer

Current Officers
President:  Dr. Paul T. Castelein
Executive Vice President:  Ms. Christine L. Eisenmayer

American Board of Pediatric Dentistry
325 East Washington Street
Suite 101
Iowa City, IA 52240-3959
Phone:  (319) 341-8488
Fax:  (319) 341-9499
Email:  jdean@abpd.org
Internet Site:  www.abpd.org
Contact Person:  Dr. Jeff Dean

Current Officers
President:  Dr. J C Shirley
Executive Director:  Dr. Jeff Dean  

American Board of Periodontology
Executive Director
877 Baltimore Annapolis Boulevard
Suite 111
Saverna Park, MD  21146
Phone:  (410) 647-1324
Fax:  (410) 647-1260
Email:  kentp@uab.edu
Internet Site:  www.abperio.org
Contact Person:  Kent Palcanis

Current Officers
President:  Dr. Steven Blanchard 
Executive Director:  Dr. Kent G. Palcanis

American Board of Prosthodontics
Executive Director
30 Rosedale Road
West Hartford, CT  06107-1894
Phone:  (860) 679-2649
Fax:  (860) 679-1370
Email:  ttaylorabpros@comcast.net
Internet Site:  http://www.prosthodontics.org/abp/
Contact Person:  Dr. Thomas D. Taylor

Current Officers
President:  Dr. Donald Curtis
Executive Director:  Dr. Thomas D. Taylor

The Report of the ADA Recognized Dental Specialty Certifying Boards contains information collected from the boards recognized by the ADA Council on Dental Education and Licensure. The reports are updated annually and contain the following information about each of the nine recognized dental specialty certifying boards:

  • Certification and Examination Data
  • Board Executive Directors/Secretaries
  • Eligibility Requirements
  • Examination Procedures
  • Application and Registration Procedures
  • Re-Examination Policies
  • Recertification Policies

Download the full Report of the ADA-Recognized Dental Specialty Certifying Boards