e-mail Print Share

Meet the Committee

Members of the Committee for an Integrated Exam (CIE) are appointed by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations (JCNDE). The CIE is currently composed of six former Joint Commission members who were named to the CIE in 2009 for the duration of the project and four current members of the Joint Commission who are serving as ex-officio members of the CIE.

To ensure appropriate representation from participating Joint Commission organizations, the six former Commissioners appointed to the CIE were chosen in part based on their appointing organizations. The CIE includes two members each from the ADA, the American Dental Education Association (ADEA), and the American Association of Dental Boards (AADB).

The members are:

Dr. Mark Christensen, chair

Dr. Mark Christensen, chair of the Committee for an Integrated Examination, has been an integral part of the Joint Commission since 2006. He served as vice chair of the JCNDE in 2009 and chaired the JCNDE’s Committee on Administration in 2008 and the Committee on Dental Hygiene in 2006 and 2007. He has served in a variety of roles at the Western Regional Examining Board (WREB), and is a former president of the American Association of Dental Boards (AADB). He has been a member of the Academy of Operative Dentistry, the American Society of Clinical Hypnosis, and the World Congress of Minimally Invasive Dentistry. He is currently a member of the American College of Dentists, International College of Dentists, and Utah Dental Association. He received a D.D.S. degree from University of the Pacific in San Francisco and an MBA from the University of Utah.

Dr. Bridget Ellen Byrne

Dr. B. Ellen Byrne, professor of endodontics and senior associate dean at Virginia Commonwealth University, is a member of the ADA and has served on several test construction committees. She is also a member of the American Association of Endodontists, American College of Dentists, and the International College of Dentists. Dr. Byrne, who is also a fellow of Pierre Fauchard Academy and a recipient of a Dentist Scientist Award from the National Institutes of Health, holds several degrees from Virginia Commonwealth, including D.D.S. with general practice residency at McGuire Veterans Hospital in Richmond, Va., a Ph.D. in Pharmacology and Toxicology, a certificate in Endodontics, and a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy.

Dr. Bruce D. Horn

Dr. Bruce Horn is a Tulsa, Okla., dentist and director of dental examinations for WREB. He served on the Oklahoma Board of Dentistry for 13 years, including in the role of president, and has received the James A. Saddoris Award for Outstanding Contribution to Organized Dentistry from the Tulsa Dental Society. Dr. Horn, a former chair of the Joint Commission, is a member of the American Association of Dental Boards and the American Dental Education Association. He holds a D.D.S. degree from the University of Oklahoma, where he is an adjunct professor and was named Alumnus of the Year in 2009.

Dr. Stephen T. Radack III

Dr. Stephen T. Radack owns a dental practice in Erie, Pa., and is a member of the Erie County Dental Association, the Ninth District Dental Society, and the Pennsylvania Dental Association. He is a former Joint Commissioner and has served as a consultant dental examiner with the Northeast Regional Board of Examinations. He holds a D.M.D. degree from the University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine and is a fellow in the International College of Dentists and the American College of Dentists.

Dr. Ron J. Seeley

Dr. Ron J. Seeley has been a general dentist in Williston, N.D., since 1980 when he graduated from the Creighton University Dental School. Dr. Seeley is a past president of the North Dakota Dental Association and a past speaker for the North Dakota Dental Association House of Delegates. He has also served on the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations. Dr. Seeley is the current North Dakota delegate to the ADA House of Delegates.

Dr. Andrew I. Spielman

Dr. Andrew I. Spielman is professor and associate dean for academic affairs at New York University College of Dentistry in New York City, where he received the NYU Distinguished Teaching Award in 2009. He is a past chair of the Joint Commission and the author of over 95 research publications. Dr. Spielman holds a D.M.D. from the University of Medicine and Pharmacy in Tirgu Mures, Romania, a certificate in Maxillofacial Surgery from Technion Israeli Institute of Technology in Haifa, Israel, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Oral Biology/Biochemistry from the University of Toronto. He is also a fellow of the American College of Dentists, the Fauchard Academy, the International College of Dentists, and the New York Academy of Medicine.

The following current members of the Joint Commission are serving as ex-officio members of the CIE:

•    Dr. Luis J. Fujimoto, chair, JCNDE
•    Dr. Frank W. Licari,  chair, Committee on Research and Development
•    Dr. Lisa Heinrich-Null, chair, Committee on Administration
•    Dr. Patricia A. Parker, chair, Committee on Examination Development.

For biographical information about the current Commissioners, please see the JCNDE Members page in the About Us section of the JCNDE website.

In addition, three outside consultants have provided psychometric assistance to the CIE during examination development. These consultants are:

•    Dr. Gregory J. Cizek, professor of Educational Measurement and Evaluation at the School of Education at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
•    Dr. Michael T. Kane, Messick chair in Validity at the Educational Testing Service in Princeton, N.C.
•    Dr. Steven M. Downing, associate professor of Medical Education, Emeritus at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

The Joint Commission and the CIE also have appointed volunteers to test construction committees, and they expect to provide opportunities for additional individuals to participate on ad hoc committees, expert review panels, and in other activities as the project progresses.

The Joint Commission and CIE welcome comments and feedback from all stakeholders and communities of interest. Send comments and information to the committee at nbexams@ada.org. While individual responses are not possible, the committee reviews all comments, feedback, and questions.