e-mail Print Share

Norton M. Ross Award for Excellence in Clinical Research

2013 Recipient

Dr. Paul A. Moore


The Norton M. Ross Award, established in 1991, is presented annually in memory of Dr. Norton M. Ross, a dentist and pharmacologist who spent most of his career in academic and research positions. Dr. Ross elevated clinical research to a higher level of scientific standards, and his contributions to the fields of oral medicine and dental clinical research have had a positive and lasting influence on the public's oral health.

The Award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions in clinical investigations that have advanced the diagnosis, treatment, and/or prevention of craniofacial-oral-dental diseases, as well as outstanding research endeavors in other areas. Selection is based upon the scope of the nominee's research, with special emphasis on its impact on clinical dentistry and on publications in refereed journals. Award recipients typically demonstrate a high level of creativity and innovation.

Award and Recognition

The recipient receives a $5,000 honorarium and a plaque.


The American Dental Association sponsors the Norton M. Ross Award with the generous support of Johnson & Johnson Healthcare Products, Division of McNeil-PPC, Inc.


The deadline for nominations is June 27, 2014.

To nominate a candidate, submit a letter explaining his or her impact on clinical dentistry research, the candidate's curriculum vitae, and a list of the individual's publications in refereed journals to Kathleen Alexandrakis, The Norton M. Ross Award, American Dental Association, 211 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago, IL 60611, or email alexandrakisk@ada.org.