Join ADAMember Log In

Dr. Ron Tankersley is new ADA president-elect

House chooses Dr. Tom Sullivan as 2nd vice president

Dr. Ron L. Tankersley of Newport News, Va., is the ADA's new president-elect, chosen in balloting today at the second meeting of the 2008 House of Delegates.

The House is in session this week at the Association's 149th Annual Session in San Antonio.

"I appreciate the confidence you have shown in me and will do everything I can to represent you well," Dr. Tankersley told the delegates shortly after election results were announced.

Elected as ADA second vice president today was Dr. Thomas E. Sullivan of Westchester, Ill. Both Drs. Tankersley and Sullivan will serve alongside Dr. John S. Findley of Cross Roads, Texas, who will be installed tomorrow as ADA president.

Dr. Sullivan thanked the House, his supporters and family "for working with me and walking with me on this journey." He pledged to work "tirelessly" on behalf of the membership.

An oral and maxillofacial surgeon and a 1968 graduate of the Medical College of Virginia, Dr. Tankersley has been an ADA member for 37 years and has represented the 16th District (Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina) on the Board of Trustees.

He is a past president of the Virginia Dental Association and a past chair of the ADA Council on Dental Benefit Programs.

Dr. Sullivan, a general dentist, has been an ADA member for 30 years. A 1982 graduate of Chicago's University of Loyola School of Dentistry, he is a past president of the Illinois State Dental Society and a past chair of the ADA Council on Communications.

At the first meeting of the House Oct. 17, the speaker of the House and five new trustees were declared elected.

They are:

  • Dr. J. Thomas Soliday, Gaithersburg, Md., who has served as House speaker since first elected in 2002. Dr. Soliday was parliamentarian for the Maryland State Dental Society and speaker of the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons' House of Delegates. He is a past president of the MSDA, Southern Maryland Dental Association and Maryland Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.
  • Dr. W. Ken Rich, Dry Ridge, Ky., 6th District trustee, who has served as chair of the ADA Council on Government Affairs, as a member of the ADA task force on Workforce and as an ADA delegate.  He is a past president of the Kentucky Dental Association, a former member of the Kentucky Governor's Advisory Committee on Medicaid and vice chairman of the Northern Kentucky Independent Industrial Health Department.
  • Dr. Charles L. Steffel, Indianapolis, 7th District trustee, who has served 14 years in the ADA House of Delegates. He is a past president of the Indiana Dental Association, Indianapolis District Dental Society and the Indiana Association of Endodontists. Dr. Steffel is an associate professor of endodontics at Indiana University School of Dentistry.
  •  Dr. Edward J. Vigna, Lincoln, Neb., 10th District trustee, who served as chair of the ADA Political Action Committee for two years and was a member of the ADPAC Board for six years. He is also a former member of the ADA Council on Scientific Affairs. Dr. Vigna is past president and secretary of the Nebraska Dental Association, a past president of the Lincoln District Dental Association and a member of the NDA Hall of Fame.
  • Dr. Charles H. Norman III, Greensboro, N.C., 16th District trustee, a former chair of the ADA Council on Dental Practice who has served as chair of the ADA Wellbeing and Dental Practice Indicators Committees. He is a past president of the North Carolina Dental Society, its 3rd District Dental Society and the Foundation Board for the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill School of Dentistry. Dr. Norman also is a member of the North Carolina State Healthcare Commission.
  • Dr. Samuel B. Low, Gainesville, Fla., 17th District trustee, who has served the ADA Council on Access, Prevention and Interprofessional Relations and chaired the Future of Dental Education Committee. He has been a member of the House of Delegates since 1994. Dr. Low is a past president of the Florida Dental Association, Central District Dental Society and Florida Association of Periodontists, and is the 2008-09 president-elect of the American Academy of Periodontology.

Other Association officials include: Dr. O. Andy Elliot II, who moves from second to first vice president this year; Dr. Edward Leone Jr., treasurer; Dr. Robert A. Faiella, 1st District trustee; Dr. William R. Calnon, 2nd District trustee; Dr. William G. Glecos, 3rd District trustee; Dr. Murray D. Sykes, 4th District trustee; Dr. Marie C. Schweinebraten, 5th District trustee; Dr. Dennis E. Manning, 8th District trustee; Dr. Raymond F. Gist, 9th District trustee; Dr. Mary Krempasky Smith, 11th District trustee; Dr R. Wayne Thompson, 12th District trustee; Dr. Russell I. Webb, 13th District trustee; Dr. Kenneth Versman, 14th District trustee; and Dr. S. Jerry Long, 15th District trustee.