Join ADAMember Log In

2008 ADA Golden Apple Awards honor excellence

The 2008 ADA Golden Apple Awards mark the 20th annual recognition of outstanding achievement in dental society activities and excellence in leadership.

In the category of Legislative Achievement, the New Jersey Dental Association received top honors for "NJ's New Dental Decision Law" for a constituent society with total membership of more than 1,000 dentists. For a constituent society with total membership of fewer than 1,000 dentists, the Nebraska Dental Association won for "Fluoridation: Nature's Cavity Fighter!"

In Excellence in Membership Recruitment and Retention Activity, the California Dental Association received the Golden Apple for its "Member-Get-A-Member Program" in the category of Recruitment. For Retention, the San Antonio District Dental Society won for "Pizza Party Phonathon."

In Excellence in Dental Health Promotion to the Public, the Michigan Dental Association won the Golden Apple Award for "Want a Healthy Body? Start with a Healthy Mouth."

In the category of Excellence in Member-Related Services/Benefits (dental society with total members fewer than 1,000 dentists), the Kansas Dental Association received the award for "Communications in the Digital Age." For a dental society with total members more than 1,000 dentists, the Massachusetts Dental Society won the award for "Massachusetts Dental Society Leadership Institute."

Receiving the Golden Apple Award for Achievement in Dental School/Student Involvement in Organized Dentistry was the Dallas County Dental Society for its "Great Expectations Program."

In the 2008 Golden Apple Awards Open Category, the Georgia Dental Association received top constituent society honors for the "Georgia Dental Association Law Day Program." The Middlesex County Dental Society (New Jersey) received top component society honors for its program, "Look Into the Future."

The Inspiring Careers in Dental Education Golden Apple Award (at the Predoctoral Level) was presented to Dr. Leslie Heffez of the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry.

Three 2008 Golden Apple Awards were also presented during the ADA New Dentist Conference in June.

Dr. Peter Theodorou of the New York State Dental Association received the New Dentist Leadership Award, Dr. Irvin Silverstein of the San Diego County Dental Society received the Outstanding Leadership in Mentoring Award and Dr. Sammy Pak of the Washington State Dental Association received the New Dentist Legislative Leadership Award.