Join ADAMember Log In

Dr. Raymond Gist chosen ADA president-elect

In balloting that took place Oct. 5 at annual session in Hawaii, the ADA House of Delegates elected Dr. Raymond Gist president-elect for 2009-10—making him the first African-American to hold that high office.

"Thank you for putting your trust in me," said Dr. Gist, addressing the House moments after his election. "You have made history."

A general dentist from Grand Blanc, Mich., Dr. Gist is a 1966 graduate of the University of Michigan School of Dentistry and a 35-year member of the ADA.

The new president-elect will serve alongside Dr. Ronald L. Tankersley of Newport News, Va., who will be installed Oct. 6 as the ADA's 146th president.

Dr. Gist has represented the ADA's Ninth District (Michigan and Wisconsin) as a member of the Board of Trustees and is a past president of the Michigan Dental Association.

He has served as chair of the ADA Board's Diversity Committee, a delegate to the FDI World Dental Congress and a member of the ADA Political Action Committee's Board of Directors.

Also elected Oct. 5 in balloting at the House of Delegates was Dr. A.J. Smith, of Salt Lake City, Utah, the Association's new second vice president.

Dr. Smith is a past chair of the ADA Council on Dental Practice, a 19-year delegate or alternate to the ADA House and a past president of the Utah Dental Association.

Re-elected to their current offices Oct. 5 were the ADA treasurer, Dr. Edward Leone Jr., and the speaker of the House, Dr. J. Thomas Soliday.

Dr. Leone of Thornton, Colo., has served as treasurer since 2006. He is a past 14th District trustee, a past chair of the Council on Government Affairs, and a past president and treasurer of the Colorado Dental Association.

Dr. Soliday of Gaithersburg, Md., has served as ADA House speaker since 2002. A past president of the Maryland State Dental Society, he was the MSDS parliamentarian and speaker of the House for the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons before his election as ADA House speaker.

All newly elected and continuing ADA officials will be installed in a ceremony to take place Oct. 6 in Honolulu.