Join ADAMember Log In

OSAP honors Drs. Cleveland and Hunt

Plano, Texas—At its June symposium, the Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention honored two dentists, Jennifer Cleveland and John Hunt, for their work in infection prevention and safety.

Dr. Cleveland, a dental officer/epidemiologist in the Division of Oral Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, received the Dr. James J. Crawford Award, which recognizes lifetime achievement in the field.

Dr. Hunt, a past chief executive of the British Dental Association, received the Dr. Milton Schaefer Award, which recognizes superior service to OSAP.

Both awards are named for two of OSAP’s founders.

In addition to her work at CDC, Dr. Cleveland has written peer-reviewed articles on infection control issues such as the prevention of occupational blood exposures, Pulmonary tuberculosis guidance and human immunodeficiency virus screening in dental practices. She has also served on the editorial review boards of The Journal of the American Dental Association and OSAP’s Infection Control in Practice publication.

Dr. Hunt, an ADA honorary member and retiring member of the OSAP Board of Directors, is known for his expertise in organizational leadership and for building bridges to dental organizations around the world. He was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire by her majesty the Queen in 2000, and is also a fellow of the Faculty of General Dental Practice UK and a life fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

The symposium, “Bridging the Gap to a Safer Oral Healthcare Environment” was held June 9-12 in Plano.