Join ADAMember Log In

Board names new class for 2011-12 Institute for Diversity in Leadership

In June, the ADA Board of Trustees selected 12 participants for the 2011-12 Institute for Diversity in Leadership.

Class members are Drs. Loren Alves, San Antonio; Bijan Anvar, Larchmont, N.Y.; Viviana Avila-Gnau, Boston; Catherine Bunin-Stevenson, Wiscasset, Maine; Isaiah Davis, Columbia, S.C.; Suzanne Germain, Zionsville, Ind.; Shailee Gupta, Austin, Texas; Laji James, Houston; Diwakar Kinra, Flint, Mich.; Flavia Lamberghini, Chicago; Edgar Mendieta, Columbus, Ohio; and Romesh Nalliah, Boston.

Sponsored in part through generous contributions from Procter & Gamble Oral Health and Henry Schein Dental, the Institute provides a diverse group of dentists with education and experience to build a lifetime of relationships and set new leadership paths within the dental profession and their communities. Core to the program’s philosophy is that the lasting leadership learning is lifelong and experience-based.

Students will work with educators from Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management during the course of the program, and each participant completes a self-selected personal leadership project.

For more information, go to The 2011-12 class dates are Sept. 8-9; Dec. 12-13; and Sept. 6-7, 2012.