Council on Government Affairs Unofficial Report of Major Actions August 21-22, 2021

The Council on Government Affairs (CGA) met on August 21-22, 2021 in the ADA's Chicago office. The following is a summary of the major actions taken by the Council:

- 1. The Council elected its 2021-2022 chair and vice chair. Dr. Mark Vitale will be chair and Dr. Dan Gesek will be vice chair.
- 2. The Council voted to approve the orientation workgroup's plan and timeline for orienting new Council members.
- 3. After discussing Board concerns about Resolution 29-2021, the Council voted to send a revised version of Resolution 29-2021 to the House of Delegates. The revised version calls for the policy titled Adding the ADA Definition of Dentistry to Existing Dental Regulatory Provisions (*Trans.*2001:440) to be rescinded instead of amended.
- 4. The Council talked with the leaders of the Diverse Dental Society (DDS), Dr. Rosa Chaviano-Moran, Dr. Pamela Alston, and Dr. Cristin Haase, about how the ADA and DDS can collaborate on areas of mutual interest, including Medicare, Medicaid, student debt, and health equity.
- 5. The Council discussed the VETSmile pilot program and Council members said if they had connections to Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) and dental schools that the VA could work with to expand the program.
- 6. The Council discussed its priorities and workgroups for next year.

CGA Members:

- Dr. David White, chair, NV
- Dr. Mark Vitale, vice chair, NJ
- Dr. Abe Abdul, MA
- Dr. John Blake, CA
- Dr. David Clemens, WI
- Dr. Matthew Cohlmia. OK
- Dr. Mark Crabtree, VA
- Dr. Steven Feldman, DC
- Dr. Dan Gesek. FL
- Dr. John Hisel, ID
- Dr. Leigh Kent, AL
- Dr. Matthew Messina, OH
- Dr. Raymond Miller, NY
- Dr. John Reitz, PA
- Dr. Matthew Roberts, TX
- Dr. Leon Stanislav, TN
- Dr. Cheryl Watson-Lowry, IL
- Dr. Emily Willett, NE

Liaisons:

Mr. Sebastian Celis Cifuentes, American Student Dental Association, NY

Ms. Susan Hadnot, Alliance of the American Dental Association, MT

Dr. Jay Harrington, Trustee-Liaison, Fifth Trustee District, GA
Dr. Jessica Meeske, chair, Council on Advocacy for Access and Prevention, NE
Dr. Stephen Ortego, chair, American Dental Political Action Committee, LA

The Council will meet on January 20-22, 2022.