America's leading advocate for oral health

UNOFFICIAL REPORT OF MAJOR ACTIONS SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL ON DENTAL BENEFIT PROGRAMS September 20, 2023

The Council on Dental Benefit Programs (CDBP) convened on September 20, 2023, remotely via Zoom. The following is a summary of major actions taken by the Council:

- Approved the inclusion of the following existing administrative HCPCS Level II modifiers for inclusion in Code Source 135 (ADA) for the purposes of Medicare denial and coordination of benefits:
 - GY Item or service statutorily excluded, does not meet the definition of any Medicare benefit.
 - KX requirements specified in the medical policy have been met.

Also, approved that the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) be informed immediately of the willingness of the ADA to include the above cited modifiers in Code Source 135 that is reported on the 837D, when applicable, with corresponding CDT codes. Lastly, approved that upon receiving confirmation from CMS, the following further actions be taken:

- Inform X12, maintainer of the 837D electronic claim form, that as maintainer of the CDT Code, the American Dental Association Council on Dental Benefit Programs approves the inclusion of the "GY" and "KX" modifiers in the code source 135 (American Dental Association), the Code on Dental Procedures and Nomenclature, for the purposes of Medicare denial and coordination of benefits.
- Inform the ADA Dental Content Committee (DeCC) of inclusion of specific administrative modifiers to facilitate communication with business partners in dentistry as well as any necessary future update of the ADA's paper dental claim form.

CDBP Members

- Dr. Jessica A. Stilley-Mallah, chair, FL
- Dr. Stacey S. Gardner, vice chair, AL
- Dr. Roderick H. Adams, OH
- Dr. Alyson K. Buchalter, NY
- Dr. Adrian Carrington, CA
- Dr. Andrew Gazerro, III, RI (not present)
- Dr. Hadi Ghazzouli, PA (not present)
- Dr. Rodney C. Hill, WY
- Dr. Mark M. Johnston, MI
- Dr. Susan D. Jolliff, TX
- Dr. Mark A. Moats, KY
- Dr. Stephen A. Morgan, LA (not present)
- Dr. Shelley Olson, NC
- Dr. Vishruti Patel, IL
- Dr. Eddie Ramirez, OR (not present)
- Dr. Sara E. Stuefen, IA
- Dr. Scott A. Trapp, VA (not present)

<u>Liaisons</u>

Dr. Scott L. Morrison, Trustee, Tenth District, NE *(not present)* Dr. Bryce A. Larson, New Dentist Member, IL Ms. Lauren Ames, Consultant, American Student Dental Association (ASDA), OH *(not present)*