

# UNOFFICIAL REPORT OF MAJOR ACTIONS COUNCIL ON MEMBERSHIP February 16-17, 2024

The Council on Membership met on February 16-17, 2024 in Chicago at the Headquarters Building. Below is a summary of major actions taken by the Council.

### **Council on Membership Priorities**

During her opening remarks, Dr. Nipa Thakkar, Council Chair, thanked the Council for their hard work and dedication before highlighting the Council's four main priorities for the term:

- 1. Recruit for Rewards Campaign
- 2. Tripartite Dental School Collaboration
- 3. Grassroots Strategy
- 4. Acquisition, Retention and Conversion (ARC) Grant Program

#### Remarks from the ADA President

The Council was pleased to welcome ADA President Dr. Linda Edgar to provide remarks and updates surrounding the Recruit for Rewards Campaign. She encouraged Council members to continue engaging their districts to further support the initiative.

#### Report of the ADA Executive Director

Dr. Raymond Cohlmia, ADA Executive Director, addressed the Council and provided updates on recent and future ADA initiatives during this defining year of implementation. Among the key points he shared were the five business values driving the future: 1) customer/Member Focus; 2) Sustainability; 3) Innovation; 4) Nimbleness; and 5) Global Presence.

### **ADA Membership Model**

Members of the ADA Membership Model Taskforce shared a status update of the membership model and answered questions from the Council. In addition to Council members being champions and stewards of the membership model within their districts, they will also have a role in advising on faculty-related items within the model.

#### **Review and Discussion of Updated Council Responsibilities**

Curated from conversations at the June 2023 Council on Membership business meeting, a proposal was presented to the Council for discussion that would update the Council's areas of subject matter responsibility as delegated by the House of Delegates. Council members were asked to take time to thoroughly review the proposal before sharing feedback at an upcoming meeting. To update these areas, the Council anticipates presenting a resolution to the 2024 House of Delegates to amend what's currently written in the ADA *Governance and Organizational Manual*.

#### **Subcommittee on Membership Policy and Trends**

Leveraging the learnings of Council breakout sessions, Dr. Nate Kunzman, Chair of the Subcommittee on Membership Policy and Trends, shared the overarching goal of the grassroots strategy which is to help components fill the leadership pipeline. Immediate next steps include offering a town hall with components to learn more about the barriers they're facing and where they need help. The Council will also seek input and assistance from the New Dentist Committee to identify potential leaders within their districts.

### **Subcommittee on Grants and Member Benefits**

Dr. Mehrdad Safavian, Chair of the Subcommittee on Grants and Member Benefits, provided an update on newly proposed ARC Grant criteria and led the discussion on how to further support society initiatives through the ARC Grant Program.

### **Tripartite Dental School Collaboration**

Dr. Rhoda Sword, Chair of the Tripartite Dental School Collaboration, updated the Council on the overall strategy and the upcoming Lobby Day initiative. One faculty member from each of the 10 focus schools within the initiative will receive a travel stipend to attend Lobby Day in April. This provides an opportunity for the faculty members to accompany any of their students who may be attending, explore issues affecting the nation's oral health, and take action. The faculty members will be asked to report back to their school and colleagues on their experience and learnings, sharing the importance and significance of this annual event.

### **Council Members:**

- Dr. Nipa Thakkar, chair, PA
- Dr. Ensy Atarod, vice chair, TX
- Dr. Renuka Bijoor, NY
- Dr. Eric Childs, WI
- Dr. Madison Crumley, NC
- Dr. Keith Jones, AR
- Dr. Nate Kunzman, CO
- Dr. Janis Moriarty, MA
- Dr. Robin Nguyen, FL
- Dr. Noha Nour, CA
- Dr. Aruna Rao, MN
- Dr. Diane Romaine, MD
- Dr. Mehrdad Safavian, OH
- Dr. Susan Sergie, AK
- Dr. Kerri Simpson, WV
- Dr. Rhoda Sword, GA
- Dr. Terri Tiersky, IL
- Dr. Kayla Klingensmith, new dentist member, PA

## Liaisons:

Dr. Michael Medovic, Sixth District, ADA Board of Trustees

Ms. Brooke Badeaux, ASDA