

Commission on Dental Accreditation Unofficial Report of Major Actions SPECIAL CLOSED MEETING July 9, 2020

The Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) conducted a special, closed meeting on July 9, 2020 for the purpose of reviewing interruption of education reports for educational programs by the Commission.

<u>Consideration of Reports of the Education Review Committees:</u> The Commission on Dental Accreditation considered meeting reports of its 14 Review Committees related to interruption of education, and took the following major actions:

• The Commission on Dental Accreditation adopts the *temporary flexibility guidance* for Dental Assisting Standard 2-17 (noted below), and applies the guidance retroactively to all dental assisting programs under review for interruption of education in June/July 2020.

Temporary Guidance (Dental Assisting Standard 2-17): For the Class of 2020, *temporary flexibility* is permitted such that students may be permitted, under faculty supervision, to expose diagnostically acceptable full-mouth dental image surveys on two (2) patients during extramural clinical assignments.

- The Commission on Dental Accreditation further directs the circulation of the additional *temporary flexibility guidance* for Dental Assisting Standard 2-17 (noted above) to all Commission-accredited dental assisting education programs, as a resource to address interruption of education for the Class of 2020.
- * Effective July 1, 2020 Dental Assisting Standard 2-17 has been renumbered to Standard 2-18.

<u>Consideration of Matters Relating to Accreditation Actions</u>: The Commission on Dental Accreditation reviewed interruption of education reports on predoctoral dental education programs, advanced dental education programs, and allied dental education programs for the Class of 2020.

Commission Members: Dr. John Agar, Dr. Joel Berg, Dr. Linda Casser, Dr. Eladio DeLeon, Dr. Scott DeVito, Dr. Christopher Hasty, Dr. Kevin Haubrick, Dr. John Hellstein, Dr. Jeffery Hicks (vice chair), Dr. Arthur Chen-Shu Jee (chair), Dr. Bradford Johnson, Dr. Susan Kass, Dr. James Katancik, Dr. Steven Levy, Dr. Sanjay Mallya, Mr. Charles McClemens, Dr. Carol Anne Murdoch-Kinch, Dr. William Nelson, Dr. Marsha Pyle, Dr. Bruce Rotter, Dr. Timmothy Schwartz, Dr. Marybeth Shaffer, Ms. Ambika Srivastava, Dr. Alan Stein, Ms. Deanna Stentiford, Dr. Marshall Titus, and Dr. Lawrence Wolinsky.

Dr. Monica Hebl, Dr. Adolphus Jackson, and Dr. Barbara Krieg-Menning were not in attendance.
