Join ADAMember Log In

ADA Committee on the New Dentist Honors Dental Professionals At Annual Meeting

Contact Information:

Telephone: 312-440-2806
E-mail: (Journalists) or Contact ADA (All Others)

SAN DIEGO, AUG.9, 2010 — The American Dental Association (ADA) Committee on the New Dentist (CND) honored the achievements of three dentists and one state dental society during the ADA 24th New Dentist Conference in San Diego, June 24-26.

 The CND honored Dr. Thomas Smyth of the Minnesota Dental Association (MDA) with the Golden Apple Award for New Dentist Leadership. Dr. Smyth worked with the MDA New Dentist Committee to create the Street of Realities annual dental tour, which provided dental students and new dentists with real-life perspective of dental practices. Dr. Smyth also played a major role in implementing the Transitions Seminars Series, which provided dental students with the knowledge and skills necessary for a successful job search. Dr. Smyth is a 2000 graduate of the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry.

The CND honored Dr. Brett Kessler of the Colorado Dental Association (CDA) with the Golden Apple Award for Outstanding Leadership in Mentoring. Dr. Kessler was honored for his leadership in the Peer Assistance program and the Concerned Colorado Dentists program, both designed to help dentists battle addiction. In addition, Dr. Kessler helped revive the CDA New Dentist Committee. Dr. Kessler is a 1995 graduate of the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry.

 The CND honored Dr. Christopher Morgan of the Michigan Dental Association with the Golden Apple Award for New Dentist Legislative Leadership. Dr. Morgan was honored for his proactive outreach to community members and leaders in pursing solutions to various local dental issues. Dr. Morgan is a 2001 graduate of the University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine.

In addition, the CND awarded the San Antonio District Dental Society with the New Dentist Committee Outstanding Program Award of Excellence for its “CND Continuum of Excellence.”  The continuing education program focused on four clinical programs and six leadership programs, all of which were free to new dentists. The programs were well attended and well received by participants.

More than 400 dental professionals attended the ADA 24th New Dentist Conference in June. Additional highlights of the conference included the expansion of pre-conference leadership programming to a full day and continuing education courses by nationally known speakers such as Dr. Gordon Christensen. ADA President-elect Dr. Raymond Gist addressed attendees and noted the challenges and rewards ahead for the ADA and its members and the honor of being selected to serve as the ADA’s first African-American president.

The next ADA New Dentist Conference is slated for June 16-18, 2011, in Chicago. For more information about the ADA Committee on the New Dentist and resources for new practitioners, visit, call 800.621.8099, ext. 2779 or e-mail

About the American Dental Association

The not-for-profit ADA is the nation's largest dental association, representing 157,000 dentist members. The premier source of oral health information, the ADA has advocated for the public's health and promoted the art and science of dentistry since 1859. The ADA's state-of-the-art research facilities develop and test dental products and materials that have advanced the practice of dentistry and made the patient experience more positive. The ADA Seal of Acceptance long has been a valuable and respected guide to consumer dental care products. The monthly The Journal of the American Dental Association (JADA) is the ADA's flagship publication and the best-read scientific journal in dentistry. For more information about the ADA, visit For more information on oral health, including prevention, care and treatment of dental disease, visit the ADA’s consumer website