Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share
News Releases

Leaders in Evidence-Based Dentistry Honored

August 28, 2019

Contact Information:

CHICAGO — The American Dental Association (ADA) and the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) have announced the winners of the annual Evidence-Based Dentistry (EBD) Faculty and Practice Awards. The awards are supported by an unrestricted educational grant from Colgate and are presented to educators and clinicians who have made significant contributions to implement and advance EBD. The winners will receive their awards at the 2019 ADA FDI World Dental Congress in San Francisco. 

Analia Veitz-Keenan, D.D.S., will receive the 2019 EBD Accomplished Faculty Award. Dr. Veitz-Keenan is a clinical professor in the department of oral and maxillofacial pathology, radiology and medicine at the New York University College of Dentistry, where she is also the director of EBD in the department of epidemiology and health promotion. She teaches EBD to undergraduate students, postgraduate students and faculty. Dr. Veitz-Keenan served as a critical summary reviewer for the ADA Center for EBD and regularly contributes to the journal Evidence-Based Dentistry and the Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice. She presents nationally and internationally on EBD topics in education and implementation.

Joana Cunha-Cruz, D.D.S., M.P.H., Ph.D., will receive the 2019 EBD Mid-Career Faculty Award. Dr. Cunha-Cruz is a research associate professor in the department of oral health sciences at the University of Washington School of Dentistry, with a joint appointment in the University of Washington School of Public Health. She teaches critical thinking and evidence-based practice methods and applications. She is also the dental school’s curriculum lead for EBD, directing the integration of evidence-based practice and critical appraisal of literature in the dental curriculum across all academic years. She has published several systematic reviews and critical appraisals of evidence, taught EBD courses and used and generated new evidence through her research.

Thomas Paumier, D.D.S., will receive the 2019 EBD Practice Award. Dr. Paumier has been in private practice in Canton, Ohio, since 1988 and serves on the faculty of nearby Mercy Medical Center's dental residency program. He coauthored the 2015 ADA evidence-based clinical practice guideline on the use of antibiotics prior to dental procedures in patients with prosthetic joints. Dr. Paumier also served on the voting panel for the 2016 American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons guideline "Appropriate Use Criteria for the Management of Patients with Orthopaedic Implants Undergoing Dental Procedures" and coauthored the ADA's upcoming guideline on antibiotic therapeutics. He is a past-president of the Ohio Dental Association. 

For more information about the ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry, visit