Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Partnerships and Commissions
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

2012 Gold Medal nominees sought

March 19, 2012

The ADA is accepting nominations for the 2012 Gold Medal Award for Excellence in Dental Research. The deadline is May 7.

The Gold Medal Award honors individuals who help advance dentistry through basic or clinical research or improve the oral health of the public in a major way.

The winner will receive $25,000 and a commemorative gold medallion. The ADA will cover expenses for the recipient’s lodging and travel to the formal award presentation. If eligible, the recipient also will serve a three-year term as a member of the ADA Council on Scientific Affairs.

2009 awardee: Dr. Slavkin displays his Gold Medal after receiving it at the Annual Session.

Presented triennially, the Gold Medal Award is sponsored by the ADA and Church & Dwight Co. Inc. The last recipient was Dr. Harold C. Slavkin in 2009.

Other past winners include Drs. Lorne M. Golub, 2006; Robert J. Gorlin, 2003; William H. Bowen, 2000; Takao Fusayama, 1997; Harald Löe, 1994; Robert J. Genco, 1991; Basil G. Bibby, 1988; and Irwin D. Mandel, 1985.

To nominate an individual, submit a formal letter of nomination specifying the candidate’s qualifications along with the candidate’s curriculum vitae and a list of publications. Submit the nomination packet to Kathleen Alexandrakis, senior project assistant, Gold Medal Award for Excellence in Dental Research, 211 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago, Ill., 60611-2678, or email the materials to

For more information, call Ms. Alexandrakis at 1-312-440-2852.