Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Partnerships and Commissions
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

Dr. Charles Norman is ADA president-elect

October 22, 2012

In balloting at the House of Delegates today, Dr. Charles Norman III of Greensboro, N.C., was elected president-elect of the American Dental Association.

Also in the House today, Dr. Glen D. Hall of Abilene, Texas, was elected speaker of the House, and Dr. Ronald P. Lemmo of Willoughby Hills, Ohio, was elected treasurer.

Dr. Noman
“Thank you for giving me this great opportunity, an opportunity of a lifetime,” Dr. Norman said to the delegates moments after his election was announced. He went on to thank his district, his supporters, his campaign manager and his family.

“None of us can enter into a race like this without the support of our families,” the new president-elect said.

An ADA member for 35 years, Dr. Norman is immediate past trustee of the ADA’s 16th District (Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina). As trustee, he served on several Board committees, including Administrative Review, Strategic Planning and ADABEI Structure/Governance.

He was chair of the Budget and Finance Committee and Board liaison to the Council on Members Insurance and Retirement Programs, as well as the Council on Dental Education and Licensure. He is a past chair of the ADA Council on Dental Practice and has served as chair of the ADA Well-Being and Dental Practice Indicators committees.

A 1977 graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry, Dr. Norman is a past president of the university’s Foundation Board. He also is a past president of the North Carolina Dental Society and its 3rd District Dental Society.

Dr. Hall
Dr. Norman is a member of the North Carolina State Healthcare Commission, Academy of General Dentistry, American College of Dentists, International College of Dentists and Pierre Fauchard Academy.

He will succeed Dr. Robert Faiella as ADA president when the House reconvenes in New Orleans next fall.

Dr. Hall, the new ADA speaker, has practiced general dentistry in Abilene since 1978. As speaker, he will preside over the ADA’s legislative body. He succeeds Dr. J. Thomas Soliday of Gaithersburg, Md., who served as speaker for 10 years.

Since 2000, Dr. Hall has been speaker of the Texas Dental Association House of Delegates. He was on the TDA Board of Directors from 1997-2000, and has chaired the TDA Council on Dental Care Programs and the ADA Council on Dental Benefit Programs. He also served as chair of CDBP’s Subcommittee on the Code and as a member of the ADA Code Revision Committee.

A graduate of the University of Texas Health Science Center Dental Branch-Houston, he is the recipient of the TDA Service Recognition Award for his 12-year tenure as House speaker.

Dr. Lemmo
The ADA’s new treasurer, Dr. Lemmo, is a member of the Board of Trustees audit committee and past chair of the ADA Special Committee on Financial Affairs. He succeeds Dr. Edward Leone Jr. of Denver, whose second term as treasurer ends this year.

A past president of the Ohio Dental Association, Dr. Lemmo is a past member of the ADA Council on Dental Education and Licensure (2004-08); was an ADA delegate/alternate delegate for 20 years; and chaired the House Reference Committee on Budget, Business and Administrative Matters. He also chaired the ODA’s finance committee and the ODA Service Corp., a for-profit subsidiary.

In 2005, Dr. Lemmo completed the ADA/Kellogg Executive Management Program for dentists. He is a graduate of the Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine, where he is a senior clinical instructor and past director of continuing education.