Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Partnerships and Commissions
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

Alumnus named Case Western Reserve University new dental school dean

June 05, 2014

Dr. Kenneth B. Chance, Sr.
Cleveland—Dr. Kenneth B. Chance, Sr., who earned his dental degree at Case Western Reserve University, is the school’s newest dean, becoming its first African-American to take the role.

“Professor Chance’s breadth of experience and dedication to dental education and research deeply impressed the search committee,” said Barbara R. Snyder, Case Western Reserve University president, said. “He cares deeply for individual patients and students, and at the same time understands the vital importance of systemic approaches to improvement within dental schools and across health care itself.”

During his time at Case Western Reserve University as a student, Dr. Chance received multiple honors including the Paul P. Sherwood Award for Excellence in Endodontics in 1979.

After completing his endodontic postgraduate residency at the University of Medicine and Dentistry in New Jersey, Dr. Chance spent the next decade and a half at UMDJN honing skills in his specialty, earning tenure and developing expertise in the federal politics and policies in health care.

In the early 1990s, Dr. Chance worked closely with then-New Jersey Sen. Frank Lautenberg as a health policy fellow of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. He went on to serve as a health adviser to Mr. Lautenberg through 2000, and also spent four years as a federal relations adviser to UMDNJ’s Office of Government and Public Affairs.

In 1997, Dr. Chance became dean of the School of Dentistry at Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tennessee. From there, he went to the University of Kentucky to teach and also advised the school’s chapter of the Student National Dental Association.

Dr. Chance received the Distinguished Alumnus of the Year in 2004, the Appreciation and Recognition of Commitment in 2011 and Discovering the Future of Dental Medicine Award in 2012 from Case Western Reserve University.