Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Partnerships and Commissions
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

States, communities receive fluoridation awards

May 19, 2014

By Stacie Crozier

Fort Worth, Texas—In honor of 69 years of community water fluoridation, the ADA, the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention honored 130 states and communities with 2013 Fluoridation Awards at the National Oral Health Conference April 29 at the Omni Fort Worth Hotel.

Storm Lake, Iowa; Hounsfield Water District No. 5, New York; and Bradford, Vermont, were recognized with Community Fluoridation Initiative Awards for passing water fluoridation initiatives during 2013.

Another 30 communities in 13 states received Fluoridation Reaffirmation Awards for defeating initiatives to discontinue fluoridation or approving initiatives to maintain fluoridation, including: Anchorage, Alaska; Brooksville, Florida; Davenport, Des Moines and Hampton, Iowa; Duxbury, Templeton and Woodland, Massachusetts; Columbia and Forsyth, Missouri; Santa Fe, New Mexico; Delhi Village, Lyndonville Village, Springvillle Village, Walden Village and Yorktown Village, New York; Durham, Graham Mebane Water System, Orange Water and Sewer Authority and Raleigh, North Carolina; Scappoose and The Dalles, Oregon; Tyrone, Pennsylvania; South Blount County Utilities District, Tennessee; Clarksburg, Keyser and Martinsburg, West Virginia; and Holmen, St. Croix Falls and Waupaca, Wisconsin.

California received the State Fluoridation Initiative Award as the state having the greatest increase in population receiving fluoridated water in 2013.

Arkansas, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island, Nevada and West Virginia received State Fluoridation Quality Awards for maintaining the quality of fluoridation and optimal fluoride levels.

Eighty-five water systems in 29 states received Fifty Year Awards for achieving 50 years of continuous water fluoridation during the past calendar year, including: Lafayette Water Works, Alabama; Arkadelphia Waterworks, Arkansas; Cal-American Water Company (Rosemont), California; FKAA Florida City Plant and Fort Pierce Utilities Authority, Florida; Douglas, Gwinnet County and Waynesboro, Georgia; Audubon Water Supply, Bancroft Water Supply, Burlington Municipal Water Works, Independence Water Department, Lamoni Municipal Supplies, Monticello Water Supply and Villisca Municipal Water Department, Iowa; Citizens River Grange Division, McHenry, Pittsfield, Potomac and Rock Island, Illinois; Anderson Water Department, Evansville Water Utility and Richmond-Indiana American Water Company, Indiana; Jackson Municipal Water Works, Lebanon Water Works Company, Morgantown Water System and Paris Water Works, Kentucky; Bar Harbor Water Division, Bridgton Water District and Old Town Water District, Maine; Bowie, Maryland; Fenton, Harbor Springs and Lansing Board of Water & Light, Michigan; Aitkin, Excelsior, Marshall and Northfield, Minnesota; City of Cleveland and Town of Union, Mississippi; Clinton, Hayti, Jefferson City, Marceline and Savannah, Missouri; Willingboro Municipal Utilities Authority, New Jersey; City of Batavia and City of Jamestown, New York; Eden City, Elizabeth City, Monroe, Roxboro and Sanford, North Carolina; Velva, North Dakota; City of Logan and City of Upper Sandusky, Ohio; Pennsylvania-American Water Company Montrose, Pennsylvania-American Water Company Moshannon and West Manchester Township Municipal Authority, Pennsylvania; City of North Augusta and City of Seneca, South Carolina; Franklin, Humboldt and Livingston, Tennessee; Bell County Water Control & Improvement District No. 1 and Temple, Texas; Proctor Water Department, Vermont; Town of Front Royal, Town of Salem, City of Staunton and Town of Wytheville; Virginia; Anacortes, City of Battle Ground Water Department, Raymond Water Department and Vancouver, Washington; Beckley Water Company and Lubeck Public Service District; West Virginia; and Albany, Brooklyn, Durand, Frederic, Jefferson, North Freedom, Park Falls Waterworks and Plain, Wisconsin.

The Tampa Bay Times and Pinellas County Dental Association, Upper Pinellas County Dental Association and Pinellas County Oral Health Coalition received Fluoridation Merit Awards for their efforts to reinstate fluoridation in Pinellas County, Florida, after county commissioners voted to stop fluoridating in 2011. The Tampa Bay Times received a Pulitzer Prize last year for their pro-fluoridation editorials and the local dental associations and oral health coalition were instrumental in mounting a grassroots effort to bring fluoridated water back to almost 1 million people in the county.