Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

New president, board members elected to serve ADA Foundation

September 17, 2014
Dr. Reneida E. Reyes
Dr. Reneida E. Reyes
Dr. Reneida E. Reyes is the new president of the ADA Foundation Board, elected to a two-year term at the board's Sept. 16 meeting at ADA Headquarters.

Dr. Reyes accepted the position as departing president Dr. David Whiston ended a second term helming the board. The board also elected four existing members to serve as vice presidents and elected five new members to serve four-year terms.

A member of the ADAF Board of Directors since September 2012, Dr. Reyes will lead the ADA Foundation in both its philanthropy programs and efforts related to the ADA Foundation Dr. Anthony Volpe Research Center in Gaithersburg, Maryland.

Dr. Reyes is section chief of pediatric dentistry at New York Methodist Hospital, Columbia Presbyterian Network, and maintains a private practice in Brooklyn. She earned a dental degree from Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine in 1978; a master's in public health in 1981 from Harvard University School of Public Health; and postgraduate training in pediatric dentistry through the Harvard School of Dental Medicine and the Boston Children's Hospital.

Board members moving into vice president roles are:

  • Dr. Candy B. Ross
    Candy B. Ross
    Dr. Ronald D. Bushick
    Dr. Ronald D. Bushick
    Dr. Pamela A. Hemmen
    Pamela A. Hemmen
    Candy B. Ross will serve the board as vice president of grants. She is director of industry and professional relations, dental technologies, KaVo Kerr Group.
  • Dr. Ronald D. Bushick, of Glen Mills, Pennsylvania, will serve the board as vice president of scientific research. He is a former ADA vice president (2003-05)
  • Pamela A. Hemmen, of Effingham, Illinois, will serve the board as vice president of finance. She is vice president, technology services, Patterson Companies, Inc.

New ADA Foundation Board members include Dr. Edward J. Green, Albany, Georgia; Dr. Linda K. Himmelberger, Devon, Pennsylvania; Dr. Teri-Ross Icyda, Stuart, Florida; Dr. Frank Maggio, Dundee, Illinois (former ADA 8th District trustee, 1994-98); and Dr. Maritza Morell, Andover, Massachusetts.

In addition to Dr. Whiston, ADA Foundation Board members who have concluded their service after four years (2010-2014) are: Dr. Michael Rethman, Kaneohe, Hawaii; Mr. Ronald Szarzynski, Baker Tilly, Minneapolis; and Provost Pamela Zarkowski, University of Detroit Mercy, Detroit.

Visit the ADA Foundation exhibit at ADA 2014 – America's Dental Meeting at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, level two, outside of room 214.

To learn more about the ADA Foundation, including grants, awards, fundraising, and the Dr. Anthony Volpe Research Center, visit