Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Partnerships and Commissions
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

Nominations for 2015 Gold Medal Award for research due in May

February 16, 2015
Dr. Greenspan
Dr. Greenspan: Received ADA Gold Medal in 2012.

Every three years, the ADA recognizes the stellar accomplishments of a dental researcher with the Gold Medal Award for Excellence in Dental Research. The Association is accepting nominations for the 2015 award. The deadline is May 15.

The Gold Medal Award honors individuals who help advance dentistry through basic or clinical research or improve the oral health of the public in a major way.
The winner will receive $25,000 and a commemorative gold medallion. The ADA will cover expenses for the recipient’s lodging and travel to the formal award presentation. If eligible, the recipient also will serve a three-year term as a member of the ADA Council on Scientific Affairs.

ADA Gold Medal Award
The ADA and Church & Dwight Co. Inc. co-sponsor the Gold Medal Award. The 2012 recipient was Dr. John S. Greenspan.

Other past winners include Drs. Harold C. Slavkin, 2009; Lorne M. Golub, 2006; Robert J. Gorlin, 2003; William H. Bowen, 2000; Takao Fusayama, 1997; Harald Löe, 1994; Robert J. Genco, 1991; Basil G. Bibby, 1988; and Irwin D. Mandel, 1985.

To nominate an individual, submit a formal letter of nomination specifying the candidate’s qualifications along with the candidate’s curriculum vitae and a list of publications. Submit the nomination packet to Kathleen Alexandrakis, senior project assistant, Gold Medal Award for Excellence in Dental Research, 211 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago, IL, 60611-2678, or email the materials to

For more information, call Ms. Alexandrakis at 1-312-440-2852.