Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

Entries for Dental Office Design Competition due Aug. 26

July 11, 2016 When it comes to designing their own practices, Drs. Brett McRay, Heather Robbins and Robert O’Donnell share a connection — the Dental Office Design Competition inspired them.

“As a new dentist, each year I looked forward to seeing the winning entries,” said Dr. O’Donnell, an endodontist from Illinois. “They gave me a chance to dream and provided some incentive to work a little harder toward being able to design my own practice just the way I wanted it.”

The three dentists say that the competition provides floor plan ideas, a survey of current technology options, esthetics and a way to express their own individual philosophy.

These inspirations helped Drs. McRay and Robbins design and build the competition’s 2015 Dental Office Design of the Year, Small Practice winner.

Five years after graduating from the University of Texas Dental School in 2010, the two dentists decided to work together in building a completely new practice.

“At our core, we wanted to have world-class customer service and comprehensive dentistry under one room,” said Dr. McRay.
Photo of reception area at Drs. Brett McRay and Heather Robbins dental practice
Photo of chair at Drs. Brett McRay and Heather Robbins dental practice
Design winner:
Drs. Brett McRay and Heather Robbins designed their own dental practice, the Dentists at Houston Westchase, which won 2015 Dental Office Design of the Year, Small Practice.

From architects and interior designers to contractors and business partners, the duo thanked many individuals that helped them move from inspiration to actuality. In addition, they worked with Wells Fargo Practice Finance, the only practice lender endorsed by ADA Business Resources, which offered a 0.25-point lower-than-market rate due to the endorsement.

“When a practice is being built from the ground up, that is a significant saving,” Dr. McRay said.

Their research included notes describing dental chairs with particular features, an efficient layout for sterilization systems and a bank specializing in dental business financing. The result was a warm, spacious contemporary design.

Drs. McRay and Robbins used the $2,500 competition prize for their internal/external marketing.

For dentists who have designed their own office, the deadline for the 2016 Dental Office Design Competition is Aug. 26. For registration and entry, go to

Dental Office of the Year is the 2016 Grand Prize and will be selected from both small and group practices. Additional achievement award categories are: Outstanding Specialty Practice, Outstanding New Dentist Practice and Outstanding Design Innovation. Offices with leasehold improvement or renovations completed between Jan. 1, 2013, and Dec. 31, 2015, are eligible.

For more information on past winners, visit This year’s winners will be announced in Denver at ADA 2016 – America’s Dental Meeting. Registration is open at