Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

Nominate EBD leaders for faculty and practice awards

May 16, 2016 Nominations are open now until Aug. 1 for three awards that honor dental school faculty and practitioners who have made significant contributions to implement and advance evidence-based dentistry.

Two awards seek to honor accomplished faculty and mid-career faculty who demonstrate leadership in implementing EBD in research, practice or education or contribute to the scientific knowledge base of EBD. Nominees should be ADA members.

The third award honors practitioners who demonstrate leadership in implementing EBD to improve patient care in a private practice or public health setting and encourage colleagues to use research findings in practice. Nominees should be ADA members. Collaborations among faculty or practitioners (two-person teams) are welcomed.

The ADA will present the awards Oct. 19 at the EBD Champions Conference in Denver, preceding ADA 2016 – America's Dental Meeting.

To register for the EBD Champions Conference, which is supported by Colgate, or to apply or nominate someone for the awards, visit

For more information, contact Tyharrie Woods at the ADA's Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry by email at

EBD focuses on providing personalized dental care based on the most current scientific knowledge; integrating scientific evidence; the patient's oral and medical condition; medical history and treatment preferences; and the dentist's clinical judgment.

Last year's winners of the faculty and practice awards include  Dr. Donald Chi, Ph.D., an associate professor of oral health sciences at the University of Washington; Dr. Jane Gillette, a Montana clinical research dentist and dental practitioner; and Dr. Greg Huang, a professor and chair at the Department of Orthodontics, University of Washington.