Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

Four ADA members elected to Congress

Dr. Drew Ferguson wins election; Drs. Simpson, Gosar and Babin re-elected

November 09, 2016

Dr. Simpson

Dr. Gosar

Dr. Babin

Dr. Ferguson
Washington — Voters elected four ADA members to the 115th Congress Nov. 8, all with wide margins of victory.

Dr. Drew Ferguson, newly elected to represent Georgia's 3rd congressional district, will join incumbent Reps. Mike Simpson, Idaho 2nd, Paul Gosar, Arizona 4th, and Brian Babin, Texas 36th, in the Republican majority in the House of Representatives when Congress convenes in January.

"I'm honored to have earned your vote and your trust in this election," tweeted Dr. Ferguson, thanking voters. "I couldn't have done this without your advice, prayers and encouragement."

Dr. Simpson was elected to his 10th term in Congress with 63 percent of his district's votes. For his fourth term, Dr. Gosar captured 71 percent and Dr. Babin ran unopposed in both the primary and general elections in winning a second term. For his first term, Dr. Ferguson received 68 percent of the votes.

Said Dr. Simpson, "I want to express my heartfelt thanks to the voters of the second district of Idaho. I am very grateful for the strong consistent support I have received this election."

In their congressional service to date, Reps. Babin, Gosar and Simpson have been advocates for oral health and have sponsored numerous oral health bills.

"It is truly an honor and privilege to continue representing the good folks of Texas' 36th Congressional District," said Dr. Babin. "I am humbled by this opportunity and look forward to working with a Trump-Pence Administration to help get America back on the right track."

The American Dental Political Action Committee supported the campaigns of the four candidates, all general dentists. During the 2016 election cycle, ADPAC spent more than $1.9 million in supporting more than 350 candidates running for federal office. Find out more about ADPAC's activities and election results at