Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

Apply for ADA Foundation scholarships, Tarrson award

August 15, 2018

By Kelly Ganski

ADA Foundation logo
Dental students have the opportunity beginning Sept. 7 to apply for awards from the ADA Foundation.

The ADA Foundation Dental Student Scholarship Program is designed to recognize dental students who are strong academically and who demonstrate outstanding promise in leadership, public service/volunteerism, and/or research. The Foundation will award scholarships of up to $20,000 each. 

For the 2017-18 school year, the Foundation awarded seven $20,000 scholarships.  

To be eligible for consideration, an applicant must be a U.S. citizen; be enrolled full time in the second year of study at the time of application in a U.S. CODA accredited dental school; have a minimum cumulative grade point average of at least 3.4 or higher (or a pass/satisfactory) based on a 4.0 scale; and demonstrate a financial need.

See the complete guidelines and apply for a scholarship at

Scholarship applications must be complete and submitted, by 11:59 p.m. Central time on Nov. 9.  Students must create a login before the guidelines and application can be viewed.

The E. “Bud” Tarrson Dental School Student Community Leadership Award recognizes excellence in dental school student-led programs that provide services to underserved populations within the U.S. Each award is valued at $5,000. The ADA Foundation's Tarrson Fund was created in 2003 by Linda Tarrson in remembrance of her husband E. "Bud" Tarrson, longtime owner of the former John O. Butler Co. and oral health philanthropist.

To be eligible, dental student groups must be within enrolled in a CODA-accredited predoctoral dental education program. The ADA Foundation will accept one application from each dental school. Dental students who are leaders of such programs may apply with support of their faculty advisor. The application period runs from Sept. 7 through Nov. 9.

In 2018, seven groups received awards.

For specific questions on either award contact Tracey Schilligo, grants manager, at or 1-312-440-2763.