Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

2018 Dental Office Design winners selected

November 05, 2018

By Kimber Solana

Dental Office Design Competition logoHonolulu — Wells Fargo Practice Finance announced Oct. 17 the winners of the 19th annual Dental Office Design Competition, including its first Judges’ Choice award.

The Dental Office Design Competition recognizes dental facilities that most effectively express the practice philosophy of its practitioners and demonstrate a thoughtful assembly of design characteristics associated with state-of-the-art dental office.

This year’s winners are:
• Dental Office Design of the Year — Small Practice: Nashville Dentistry, Dr. Ashish Patel, Brentwood, Tennessee.
• Dental Office Design of the Year — Large Practice: Advanced Dental, Dr. Tyler Shiner, Vernal, Utah.
• Outstanding Design Innovation: Saco River Dentistry, Dr. Nicholas K. Roy, Buxton, Maine.
• Outstanding Specialty Practice: Kanning Orthodontics, Dr. Neil Kanning, Kansas City, Missouri.
• Outstanding New Dentist Practice: KC Family Dental, Dr. Sarah Brent, Fairway, Kansas.

In addition, Wells Fargo Practice Finance awarded its first Judges’ Choice award to Dr. Anna Cowdin and Nomad Dental in Dallas. According to the judging panel, the entry stood out as “the most unique they had ever evaluated.” Nomad Dental operates a mobile practice in a 235-square-foot converted trailer.

“Efficiently designed with the environment in mind, the office uses solar energy with power and water fully self-contained,” according to Wells Fargo Practice Finance in a news release, adding that the nontraditional approach to the delivery of dentistry was conceived by Dr. Cowdin, a 2018 graduate of Roseman University College of Dental Medicine, and built with a relatively small budget.

“The judges were so taken by the execution of this project that they were compelled to recognize it and, thus, create a new category for the Dental Office Design Competition,” according to Wells Fargo Practice Finance.
The two Dental Office Design of the Year winners will receive a $2,500 bonus marketing fund, ADA-related media exposure and an engraved trophy. The outstanding achievement award winners also receive trophies and media coverage.

“Going strong for 19 years, our annual Dental Office Design Competition is always a highlight for us at Wells Fargo Practice Finance and the American Dental Association,” said Gavin Shea, senior vice president for health care for Wells Fargo Practice Finance, which co-sponsors the competition.

“The office designs each year always express the deep personal commitment these practice owners have to their staff and patients to deliver the best in care in an environment that inspires their team to come to work every day.”

For more information on the competition, including current and past winning practices, visit