Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

Dr. Gehani is ADA president-elect

October 22, 2018

By Kimber Solana

Honolulu — In balloting Monday at the ADA House of Delegates Dr. Chad P. Gehani, of New York, was voted president-elect.

Dr. Chad P. Ghehani
Elected: Dr. Chad P. Gehani speaks Monday at the ADA House of Delegates after his election as president-elect.
Photos by EZ Event Photography

“I want to thank you for putting your faith in me,” Dr. Gehani told the delegates after his election. “I promise you I will always be what I have always told you: I will be your servant leader.”

Dr. Gehani, who has served as a delegate from 2000-14, is the immediate past trustee of the ADA’s 2nd District. Dr. Gehani previously served as president of the New York State Dental Association and the Queens County Dental Society. In addition to the ADA, Dr. Gehani is a member of the American Association of Endodontists and the Indian Dental Association.

Dr. Gehani received his dental degree from Columbia University College of Dental Medicine. He is the recipient of the Ellis Island Medal of Honor, which recognizes Americans who dedicate their lives to community and is bestowed by the Ellis Island Honor Society.

 “I will be working hard for you. We are the leading authority of dentistry, not just in the United States but globally,” he said. “Let’s work together.”

Second vice president

Dr. Ted Sherwin
Dr. Craig W. Herre speaks after his election as ADA second vice president at the 2018 House of Delegates.

Also in balloting Monday at the House, Dr. Craig W. Herre, of Leawood, Kansas, was voted second vice president.

“I’m super excited to be part of the Board and I’m really looking forward to starting tomorrow morning,” Dr. Herre said.

Dr. Herre has served as chair of the ADA Council on Communications, as a member of the ADA’s National Oral Health Literacy Advisory Committee and as a delegate from 2010-18. He was named Dentist of the Year by the Kansas Dental Association in 2017 and previously served as the organization’s president. Dr. Herre received his dental degree from the University of Missouri at Kansas City School of Dentistry.


Dr. Craig W. Herre
Treasurer: Dr. Ted Sherwin gives an acceptance speech thanking delegates for choosing him as ADA treasurer.

In addition, during balloting Monday at the House, Dr. Ted Sherwin, of Orange, Virginia, was voted treasurer.

“This is a trust you have given me and a responsibility,” Dr. Sherwin said. “I will do everything that I can to sustain that trust. My time is now your time. If you need me, I’m here for you. I will try to provide the best information as treasurer.”

Dr. Sherwin served on the ADA's Special Committee of Financial Affairs and on the ADA Board committees of finance, strategic planning and budget. In addition he was author and member of ADA House Resolution 97H Workgroup which studied the House budget process and strategic planning. He served his district caucus budget and business matters team for 14 years and as chair six times. Dr. Sherwin currently serves on the ADA Council on Membership.

Because of the time difference in Hawaii, coverage of the installation of officers and trustees will be posted tomorrow.