Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

Six seek to succeed ADA speaker

August 19, 2019

By Kimber Solana

The ADA House of Delegates will elect a new speaker at its annual meeting during the ADA FDI World Dental Congress in San Francisco to replace outgoing Speaker Glen D. Hall, of Abilene, Texas, whose second term will end in September.

Image of ADA 2019 elections logoPer ADA Bylaws, the speaker may hold the office for two consecutive three-year terms.

Voting will take place Sept. 9.

Each candidate’s curriculum vitae was provided to members of the ADA House of Delegates in the candidates information webpage on
Brief biographies of each candidate follow (in alphabetical order):

Photo of Dr. Anderson
Dr. Anderson
Dr. David C. Anderson
Dr. David C. Anderson, a periodontist in Burke, Virginia, is a past speaker, parliamentarian and president of the Virginia Dental Association. He currently serves as parliamentarian for the American Academy of Periodontology and is a member of the Northern Virginia Dental Society Board of Directors.

Dr. Anderson’s additional experience includes serving in numerous committees and leadership roles at various levels of organized dentistry, including the ADA Council on Communications, which he chaired in 2004, and as president of the Northern Virginia Dental Society. Dr. Anderson is a 1974 graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry and earned his periodontics certification in 1976 at Fairleigh Dickson University.

Photo of Dr. Donald
Dr. Donald
Dr. W. Mark Donald
Dr. W. Mark Donald, a general dentist in Louisville, Mississippi, has served as speaker, president and as an ADA delegate with the Mississippi Dental Association. In addition, he served as speaker and president with the Academy of General Dentistry and as president of the Academy of General Dentistry Foundation.

Other experience includes serving as a member of the ADA Council on Dental Practice in 2018; as chair, vice chair, secretary/treasurer and parliamentarian of the ADA 5th District; and as Mississippi Mission of Mercy Project chair in 2011, 2013 and 2019. Dr. Donald is a 1988 graduate of the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry where he has also taught as an adjunct faculty since 2015.

Photo of Dr. Felsenfeld
Dr. Felsenfeld
Dr. Alan L. Felsenfeld
Dr. Alan L. Felsenfeld, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon at the UCLA School of Dentistry, is a past speaker and parliamentarian of the California Dental Association. He also served as parliamentarian and meeting educator for many dental and educational groups.

In addition, Dr. Felsenfeld has additional professional organization experience in dentistry including as chair of the ADA Commission on Continuing Education Provider Recognition, ADA delegate, district representative who acts as a sergeant-at-arms when called upon by the ADA speaker and as president or board member of numerous dental societies. Dr. Felsenfeld earned his dental degree in 1974 from the University of California Los Angeles and a certificate in oral and maxillofacial surgery from Chicago’s Cook County Hospital in 1977.

Photo of Dr. Gounardes
Dr. Gounardes

Dr. Steven Gounardes
Dr. Steven Gounardes, a general dentist in Brooklyn, New York, currently serves as speaker and parliamentarian of the New York State Dental Association. He also served as a 2nd District trustee on the ADA Board of Trustees from 2010-14 and served as president of the New York State Dental Association in 2007.

Dr. Gounardes’ additional experience includes serving as chair for various ADA committees including the ADA Budget and Finance Committee, ADA Diversity and
Inclusion Committee and the ADA State Public Affairs Committee. Dr. Gounardes is a 1984 graduate of New York University College of Dentistry and currently serves as program director of the Woodhull Medical Center in Brooklyn.
Photo of Dr. Peskin
Dr. Peskin
Dr. Robert M. Peskin
Dr. Robert M. Peskin, a general dentist and dental anesthesiologist in Garden City, New York, is a past speaker (2009-15), parliamentarian and governor of the New York State Dental Association. He also served as director and speaker (2005-15) for the American Dental Society of Anesthesiology and served as Nassau County Dental Society president.

Dr. Peskin was an ADA Council on Dental Education and Licensure member, chairing its Anesthesiology Committee. He served as director of the American Institute of Parliamentarians and is currently its secretary. A 1977 graduate from State University of New York at Stony Brook School of Dental Medicine, he completed general practice and dental anesthesiology residencies at Long Island Jewish Medical Center.

Photo of Dr. Peters
Dr. Peters
Dr. Debra Schmit Peters
Dr. Debra Schmit Peters, a general dentist in Grand Rapids, Michigan, is a past speaker of the house and immediate past president of the Michigan Dental Association. She also served as president, vice president and secretary/treasurer of the West Michigan District Dental Society.

Dr. Peters’ additional experience includes serving in various committees and leadership roles in organized dentistry, including the ADA Council on Membership from 2003-07 (chair 2006-07) and currently serving on the Executive Committee and Executive Director Evaluation Committee of the Michigan Dental Association. Dr. Peters is a 1993 graduate of the University of Michigan School of Dentistry and was an adjunct faculty member at the Kalamazoo Valley Community College from 1994-96.