Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

ADA Foundation awards $20,000 scholarships to students

March 22, 2019
ADA Foundation logo 2019

Four dental students will each receive a $20,000 scholarship from the ADA Foundation.

The ADA Foundation Dental Student Scholarships are designed to recognize dental students who are strong academically and demonstrate outstanding promise in leadership, public service and/or research.

The 2019 ADA Foundation Dental Student Scholarship recipients are:

  • Jeffery Coon, University of Nevada Las Vegas School of Dental Medicine.
  • Pegah Khosravi- Kamrani, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry.
  • Allyn LaCombe, Louisiana State University School of Dentistry.
  • Dylan Salem, University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry.

“I continue to be impressed by both the number and quality of applications for our Dental Student scholarships. I congratulate the recipients and hope that these awards help in the formative years of your careers,” said Dr. William R. Calnon, president of the ADA Foundation. “These scholarships demonstrate the importance the ADA Foundation places on making important investments in the future of our profession. The selection process is difficult and I commend the ADAF Scholarships Committee for their time and thorough approach to this activity.”

Dental students must be enrolled full-time in their second year of study at the time of application at a dental school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation to be eligible. Scholarship recipients are selected based on a variety of qualitative and quantitative considerations. The application period for the next ADA Foundation Dental Student scholarships will open in January 2020. Visit for details.

To make a donation to the ADA Foundation or to learn more about this and other programs, visit