Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

Letters: Dentists in Congress

December 10, 2018

The results of the midterm elections on Nov. 6 increased the number of dentists serving in the United States House of Representatives to five. The first of the current dentists to serve was Dr. Mike Simpson beginning in 1999 when he was the Solitary Solo. Dr. Paul Gosar joined him in 2011 and the two were a Dynamic Duo. In 2015, Dr. Brian Babin began his first term and dentists had a Terrific Trio. Dr. Drew Ferguson joined the dental delegation in 2019 and formed the Fabulous Four. The addition of Dr. Jeff VanDrew, who will be sworn in in January, not only creates the Fantastic Five but shows that the dental delegation in Congress is not just for Republicans anymore. Increasing the number of members in Congress who are dentists significantly helps to get legislation important to dental patients' well-being passed. The American Dental Political Action Committee has played an important role in electing dentists. It is important that ADA members continue to fund this vital advocacy tool and even increase ADPAC support. The election of our dentist members of Congress should encourage other dentists throughout the country to get involved in electoral politics at every level of government so that dentistry's message can be promoted from the Town Hall to the U.S. Capitol. Now, if we could only get some members in the Senate.

Jay R. Wells, III, D.D.S.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania