Join ADAMember Log In

2013-2014 Institute for Diversity in Leadership class selected

In June, the ADA Board of Trustees selected 12 participants for the 2013-2014 Institute for Diversity in Leadership, now in its 11th year.

Class members are Drs. Steven Dau, Tampa, Fla.; Andrea Davis, Gulfport, Miss.; Maurice Edwards, New York, N.Y.; Felicia Frizzell, Fort Defiance, Ariz.; Calysta Harris-Beatty, Rockford, Ill.; Maria Martinez, Middleton, Idaho; Ruben Moronta, Bronx, N.Y.; Nehal Patel, Jenks, Okla.; Princy Rekhi, Renton, Wash.; Esperanza Rodriguez, Bronx, N.Y.; Nipa Thakkar, Wyomissing, Pa.; and Daniel Torres, Weston, Fla.

Sponsored, in part, through generous contributions from Procter & Gamble Oral Health and Henry Schein Dental, the Institute provides a diverse group of dentists with education and experience to build a lifetime of relationships and set new leadership paths within the dental profession and their community.  Core to the program’s philosophy is that the lasting leadership learning is lifelong and experience-based.

Students will work with educators from Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management during the program, and each participant completes a self-selected personal leadership project. The American Dental Association is a recognized provider of the Continuing Education Recognition Program.  Institute for Diversity in Leadership participants will earn continuing education credits.

For more information, go to, Events, Institute for Diversity.  The 2013-2014 class dates are Sept. 23-24; Dec. 16-17 and Sept. 4-5, 2014.