Norton M. Ross Award for Excellence in Clinical Research

Nominations are now closed for the 2020 Norton M. Ross Award

Latest Recipients
Laurie K. McCauley is the William K. and Mary Anne Najjar Professor and Dean, University of Michigan, School of Dentistry, and Professor Department of Pathology, Medical School. Dr. McCauley earned her BS, DDS, MS and PhD (Veterinary Pathobiology) from The Ohio State University. She has had several visiting scientist/professor appointments including the Institut de Genetique et de Biologie Moleculaire et Cellulaire, the École Normale Supérieure (Lyon), and the Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School. Dr. McCauley is a diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology, Fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science, former council member of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR), former Associate Editor of the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research (JBMR), Fellow, American College of Dentists and International College of Dentists, and served on the NIH National Advisory Dental & Craniofacial Research Council. Dr. McCauley has led an active research program in hormonal controls of bone remodeling, parathyroid hormone anabolic actions in bone, and prostate cancer skeletal metastasis for more than twenty-five years. Among her many recognitions are the inaugural Paula Stern Achievement award (ASBMR), a distinguished scientist award, International Association for Dental Research and membership in the National Academy of Medicine.

The Norton M. Ross Award, established in 1991, is presented annually in memory of Dr. Norton M. Ross, a dentist and pharmacologist who spent most of his career in academic and research positions. Dr. Ross elevated clinical research to a higher level of scientific standards, and his contributions to the fields of oral medicine and dental clinical research have had a positive and lasting influence on the public's oral health.

The Award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions in clinical investigations that have advanced the diagnosis, treatment, and/or prevention of craniofacial-oral-dental diseases, as well as outstanding research endeavors in other areas. Selection is based upon the scope of the nominee's research, with special emphasis on its impact on clinical dentistry, and on publications in refereed journals. Award recipients typically demonstrate a high level of creativity and innovation.

The recipient receives a $5,000 honorarium and a plaque.

Nomination Procedure
Submit a concise letter of nomination describing the nominee's accomplishments in the context of the award's objectives, along with the nominee's curriculum vitae and a list of publications. The letter should be explicit in describing the impact of the nominee's research on clinical dentistry.

Please note: All nominees eligible for ADA membership must be an ADA member in good standing.

Nominations for the 2020 Norton M. Ross Award are due December 15, 2020. Please submit letters of nomination via email or hard copy to:

Ms. Kelly Mangold
Norton M. Ross Award for Excellence in Clinical Research
American Dental Association
211 East Chicago Ave., 4th Floor
Chicago, IL 60611-2678

The American Dental Association sponsors the Norton M. Ross Award with the generous support of Johnson & Johnson Consumer Inc.