Dental Quality Alliance (DQA)™

Committed to improving patient care and safety through the collaborative development of oral healthcare measures.

Text above the logo for the Dental Quality Alliance reads, "Advancing performance measurements as a means to improve oral health, patient care, and safety though a consensus building process."


Oral Healthcare Quality Reports

View the latest Oral Healthcare Quality State Profiles

Placeholder image
Dental Quality Measures and Measure Development Resources
Topic page
Topic page
Quality Measurement Webinars and other DQA Educational Tools
Oral Healthcare Quality Reports and Quality Improvement Resources

What is the DQA?

The Dental Quality Alliance (DQA) was established by the American Dental Association to develop performance measures for oral health care. The DQA is an organization of major stakeholders in oral health care delivery that use a collaborative approach to develop oral health care measures. The mission of the DQA is to advance performance measurement as a means to improve oral health, patient care, and safety through a consensus-building process. 


  1. To identify and develop evidence-based oral health care performance measures and measurement resources.
  2. To advance the effectiveness and scientific basis of clinical performance measurement and improvement.
  3. To foster and support professional accountability, transparency, and value in oral health care through the development, implementation and evaluation of performance measurement.

Current Member Organizations, Committees and Workgroups

Organizational Members
  • Academy of General Dentistry
  • American Academy of Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology
  • American Academy of Oral & Maxillofacial Radiology
  • American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry
  • American Academy of Periodontology
  • American Association of Endodontists
  • American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
  • American Association of Orthodontists
  • American Association of Public Health Dentistry
  • American Association of Dental Research
  • American Board of Pediatric Dentistry
  • American Board of Prosthodontists
  • American Dental Association
  • American Dental Education Association
  • American Dental Hygienists' Association
  • America's Health Insurance Plans
  • Delta Dental Plans Association
  • DentaQuest
  • eClinicalWorks
  • Managed Care of North America Dental
  • National Association of Dental Plans
  • National Network for Oral Health Access
  • The Joint Commission
Associate Organizational Members
  • D4C Dental Brands
  • GlaxoSmithKline
Technical Advisors/Liaisons
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • Defense Health Agency
  • The Food and Drug Administration
  • Health Resources and Services Administration
  • Medicaid-Medicare-CHIP Services Dental Association
  • Veterans Health Administration
2021 Officers
  • Chair: Thomas Meyers, America's Health Insurance Plans
  • Chair-Elect: Paul Casamassimo, American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry
2021 Executive Committee Members
  • American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, (Representative: Paul Casamassimo)
  • American Academy of Periodontology, (Representative: Marie Schweinebraten)
  • American Dental Education Association, (Representative: Ronald Hunt)
  • Academy of General Dentistry, (Representative: Ralph Cooley)
  • American Dental Association, (Representative: Craig Amundson)
  • American Dental Association, (Representative: James Crall)
  • American Dental Association, (Representative: Irene Hilton) 
  • American Dental Association, (Representative: Cary Limberakis)
  • American Dental Association, (Representative: Yvonne Maldonado)
  • Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, (Representative: Andrew Snyder)
  • National Association of Dental Plans, (Representative: Mark Jurkovich)
2021 Education Committee

This Committee is charged with creating programs to enhance stakeholder’s knowledge regarding performance measures, performance measurement and DQA activities.

Committee Members 

  • Chair: Marie Schweinebraten, Periodontist, Georgia Reconstructive Dentistry
  • Christopher Bulnes, General Dentist, Buckenheimer & Bulnes 
  • Ashley Casey, Co-Founder, Smiles 2 Go
  • Ralph Cooley, Assistant Dean, Admissions & Student Services; Associate Professor, The University of Texas at Houston School of Dentistry 
  • Tom Meyers, Vice President, Product Policy, America's Health Insurance Plans
  • Jesley Ruff, Board of Directors, Wisconsin Collaborative for Healthcare Quality
  • Linda Vidone, Periodontist, Vice President and Senior Dental Director, DentaQuest
Executive Committee Liaison (American Dental Education Association): Ronald Hunt, Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Midwestern University 
2021 Measure Development and Maintenance Committee

This Committee is charged with identifying and developing evidence-based oral health care performance measures and measurement resources while continually advancing the effectiveness and scientific basis of clinical performance measurement and improvement.

 Committee Members

  • Chair: Craig Amundson, General Dentist, HealthPartners 
  • Tim Wright, Distinguished Professor, The University of North Carolina School of Dentistry
  • Fred Eichmiller, Vice President and Science Officer, Delta Dental Wisconsin 
  • Chris Farrell, Oral Health Program Director, Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
  • An Nyugen, Chief Dental Officer, Clinica Family Health
  • Chris Okunseri, Director, Predoctoral Program, Dental Public Health, Marquette University
  • Bob Russell, Dental Director, Iowa Department of Public Health
  • Executive Committee Liaison (ADA): Cary Limberakis, General Dentist, Limberakis Family Dentistry
2021 Implementation and Evaluation Committee

This Committee is charged with developing resources to enable use of DQA measures within quality/performance improvement projects, looking into the data infrastructure in dentistry for measure implementation and quality improvement, and determining pathways to help establish a continuous learning health system for dentistry. 

Committee Members

  • Chair: James Crall, Professor & Chair, Division of Public Health and Community Dentistry, UCLA School of Dentistry
  • Patrick Finnerty, Senior Adviser, Oral Health Programs, DentaQuest Foundation 
  • Neva Kaye, Policy Fellow, The National Academy for State Health Policy
  • Gretchen Thompson, Executive Director, State & Corporate Services, Health Services Advisory Group, Inc.
  • Colin Reusch, Senior Adviser, Oral Health Policy, Community Catalyst, Inc.
  • Andrew Snyder, Health Policy Analyst, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • Lynn Mouden, Vice President, Quality and Performance, Avēsis Incorporated 
Executive Committee Liaison (ADA): Yvonne Maldonado, General Dentist, The Dental Ark