Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Partnerships and Commissions
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

International Classification of Diseases (ICD)

The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) codes have been used in medicine for over a century. More recently, they have been adopted for the reporting of diagnoses on claims for medical services in the United States.

ICD Clinical Modification, Release 9 (ICD-9-CM) codes have been the standard for reporting diagnoses on HIPAA electronic transactions since the US first adopted electronic transactions standards in the early 2000s. An updated version of the ICD Clinical Modification, ICD-10-CM, is expected to replace ICD-9-CM as the HIPAA standard code set for diagnoses. ICD-10-CM is more detailed than ICD-9-CM, containing about 68,000 terms to ICD-9-CM's 13,000. It also contains more dental concepts, although not as many as found in SNODENT®.

The current complete edition of ICD-10-CM may be downloaded free of cost from the Centers for Disease Control National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) site.  Another useful site,, provides a free, web-based quick reference tool for ICD-10-CM codes.


Recent News




American Dental Association
Department of Dental Informatics
Phone: 312.440.2500
ADA business hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. U.S. Central Time.